The Times West Virginian

March 16, 2012

County declared disaster area

Associated Press

FAIRMONT — President Barack Obama has declared three West Virginia counties, including Marion, disaster areas.

The designation, announced Friday night, means residents of Lincoln, Marion and Wayne counties will be eligible for federal disaster aid, following storms and flooding that took place from Feb. 29 to March 5.

The assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses and other programs to help homeowners and business owners recover.

Applications can be made beginning Saturday by calling 1-800-621-FEMA.