The Times West Virginian

March 17, 2013

FSU’s Noone ‘stellar professor’

Instrumental in starting National Security and Intelligence Program

By Kaylyn Christopher
Times West Virginian

FAIRMONT — After finishing in the runner-up spot one year ago, Fairmont State University’s Gregory Noone, Ph.D., J.D., assistant professor of political science and law, has been named the 2012 Professor of the Year by the Faculty Merit Foundation.

The announcement was made Tuesday evening at a banquet in the Great Hall of the Culture Center in Charleston.

“I really was shocked,” Noone said. “The other four candidates were just incredibly qualified and strong candidates with diverse backgrounds.”

Also in the running for the award were Kenneth H. Yount, Ph.D., a political science and history professor at Alderson-Broaddus College who finished as the runner-up; Daniel Holbrook, Ph.D., associate professor of history at Marshall University; Gregory Juckett, M.D., M/P.H., professor of family medicine and a WVU Health Service physician at West Virginia University; and Bryan Raudenbush, Ph.D., psychology professor at Wheeling University.

Full story