The Times West Virginian

February 15, 2014

Municipal elections scheduled for June

Barrackville filing period ends today

By Colleen S. Good
Times West Virginian

FAIRMONT — Filing for the Barrackville municipal election is winding down.

The town will be holding elections for mayor, recorder and five council seats, all of which serve for two-year terms.

The filing period closes today, when the Barrackville Town Hall will be open from 9-11 a.m. Candidate filings will also be accepted from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. today. All interested candidates should fill out a candidate certificate of announcement and pay a $25 filing fee.

As of Thursday, two had filed to run for mayor: current mayor Roy Meeks III and current councilman Douglas Ice. Filing for council were current councilmen Robert Hollandsworth, Randy “Dewey” Ice, David Tonkin, Jeffrey Mullenax and Charles Moore, and Michelle Clide. No one had filed to run for recorder. The recorder is Donna Hall.

The Barrackville municipal election will be held Tuesday, June 3.

Grant Town will also be holding its election June 3. However, its filing period will continue until March 1. To file, candidates can go to town hall between 7:30 a.m. and 4 p.m. on weekdays. The filing fee is $15 for mayor, $10 for council seats and $15 for the recorder. Five council seats, the mayor and the recorder are up for election. Each position serves a two-year term.

As of Thursday, only one person had filed: Charles Ross for a council seat.

The Grant Town mayor is Melanie Thompson. Council members are Charlie Rosic, Melissa Rosic, Michael Jordan, Doug Gower and Brad Shahan. The recorder is Kristin Craig.

Pleasant Valley will be holding an election June 10. Its filing period has not started yet, and will be held from March 3-14. Anyone interested in filing to run for office can come to the municipal building between 9 a.m. and 3 p.m. There is a $5 filing fee.

The positions up for election are mayor, two members of the council-at-large, and three members as representatives of specific wards: one for Kingmont, one for Millersville and one for Pleasant Valley. The representatives for Millersville and Pleasant Valley will serve four-year terms, while the mayor, two members of the council-at-large and the Kingmont representative will serve two-year terms.

The difference in service length is because Pleasant Valley is transitioning to a system of staggered four-year terms for council representatives.

Email Colleen S. Good at or follow her on Twitter @CSGoodTWV.