The Times West Virginian

June 18, 2014

Ice to serve as mayor of Barrackville

Incumbent Meeks won’t seek recount

By Emily Gallagher
Times West Virginian

BARRACKVILLE — Douglas Ice will be the mayor of Barrackville and incumbent Roy Meeks III will not file for a recount.

The election results from last week’s Barrackville municipal election were certified Monday. After the canvass, Ice maintained his four-vote lead over Meeks.

Ice, who is a current council member, received 110 votes, while Meeks received 106 votes. Meeks was first elected as mayor in 2012 and is serving a two-year term in that position.

Along with certifying the results of the race for mayor, votes for the council seats were certified. Five council seats were up for election in Barrackville. Incumbent David Tonkin, Randy Ice, incumbent Charles Moore, Bill Greathouse and Michelle Clyde received the most votes of the eight candidates on the ballot.

Tonkin received 161 votes; Ice received 119 votes; Moore received 117 votes; Greathouse received 107; and Clyde received 104 votes. Incumbent Robert Hollandsworth received 99 votes; incumbent Jeffery Mullenax received 94 votes; and Michael Jordan III received 56 votes.

Steven Hall ran unopposed for the town recorder position and received 177 votes.

A total of 219 ballots were cast in Barrackville’s municipal election, and officials say it was the largest turnout for an election in Barrackville in more than 25 years.

Meeks said he will not file for a recount because he feels it’s not necessary.

“It’s been a pleasure to be mayor,” he said. “I don’t know if in two years I’ll run again. I ran because I was obeying the Lord. If he wants me to run again, I will.”

Pleasant Valley also made its municipal election results official. On Tuesday, before the council meeting, the votes were canvassed and Mayor Barbara Metcalfe said there were no challenges to the results.

In the election, Metcalfe ran unopposed and received 70 votes.

As for the positions on council, voters voted for one Kingmont representative, one Millersville representative, one Pleasant Valley representative and two members for the council-at-large position.

For the two council-at-large positions, two candidates ran for the seats. Diane Lay received 60 votes and William “B.J.” Hawkins received 55 votes.

Chad Nuzum was the only candidate for the Kingmont council seat and received 64 votes. Susan Brown was the only candidate for the Millersville council seat and received 62 votes. Gary Boyles was the only candidate for the Pleasant Valley council seat and received 58 votes.

The representatives for Millersville and Pleasant Valley will serve four-year terms, while the mayor, two members of the council-at-large position and the Kingmont representative on council will serve two-year terms.

The difference in service length is because Pleasant Valley is transitioning to a system of staggered four-year terms for council representatives.

Email Emily Gallagher at or follow her on Twitter @EGallagherTWV.