The Times West Virginian

January 24, 2014

Deadline Saturday to file for primary

By Colleen S. Good
Times West Virginian

FAIRMONT — Residents interested in running in the May 13 primary election have until midnight on Saturday to file for candidacy and pay their filing fee.

For anyone filing to appear on the Marion County ballot, the Marion County Courthouse election office will be open from 8:30 a.m. to midnight Saturday. Only the Jefferson Street entrance across from WesBanco will be unlocked at that time. Filing and fees will also be accepted via mail, if postmarked by USPS by Saturday at midnight.

Those interested in filing for state, multi-county and legislative offices should apply to the West Virginia Secretary of State’s office, either in person, or via mail postmarked by USPS by midnight Jan. 25.

Shelley Moore Capito isn’t the only Republican who has filed to run for the U.S. Senate primary seat to replace Sen. Jay Rockefeller, who announced his retirement in January 2013. Larry Eugene Butcher from Washington and Matthew Dodrill from Parkersburg have also filed. The only Democrat who has filed so far is David B. Wamsley, though Secretary of State Natalie Tennant has announced her intention to file today at 10:30 a.m.

For the U.S. House of Representatives, Rep. David B. McKinley has filed to run in the Republican primary, while Glen B. Gainer III has applied to run in the Democratic primary for the same position.

Democrat State Sen. Bob Beach is the only Democrat or Republican to apply to run for District 13 so far.

Democrat Delegates Linda Longstreth, Tim Manchin and Mike Caputo have all filed to run for the Democratic primary to retain their seats. Barry Bledsoe, Phil Mallow and Bobbie D. Triplett II have all filed to run in the Republican primary for those delegate seats.

Belinda Biafore has filed to run for the female seat for the Democratic State Executive Committee for District 13, and Andrew A. Sabak has filed to run for the male seat for the Republican State Executive Committee for District 13.

In local county filings, only six have applied so far for the 16 male seats on the county Democratic Executive Committee, and only one has filed for the female seat. Jesse L. Corley, James R. Tate, David Sturm, Mike Webb, Donald Leonard and Mark Rankin filed for the male seats, and Donna Costello filed for a female seat.

There are three filings thus far for male seats on the county Republican Executive Committee, and no filings for the female seats. Phil Mallow, Philip Reed Sr., and Andrew Sabak have filed for those positions.

If not enough people file for positions on the county executive committees, the county committee chairs will appoint someone to those positions after the election. The county executive committees are responsible for picking poll workers.

Barbara A. Core has filed to run as a delegate for the first congressional district for the Democrat party primary, and has also filed for the Delegate Executive Committee.

Deborah M. Prezioso has filed as a democrat for the 13th Senatorial District Executive Committee.

Rev. James Saunders has filed for re-election on the Marion County Board of Education for the Middletown District. Gail L. Redmond has filed for the same position.

Current circuit clerk Rhonda Starn has filed to run as Democrat, and current White Hall mayor Guy Ward has filed to run as a Republican.

Burley “Butch” Tennant has filed as a Democrat for re-election to the Marion County Commission, and Rick Garcia has also filed for the Democrat primary for the seat. William “Bill” Burdick has applied as a Republican for the same seat.

Republican Don Headley has filed for Conservation District Super.

The primary will take place Tuesday, May 13, and the general election will be in November.

Email Colleen S. Good at or on Twitter @CSGoodTWV.