The Times West Virginian


April 9, 2014

FSU golfer wins MEC Player of the Year

KINGSPORT, Tenn. — Fairmont State’s Jess Ferrell shot a two-day score of 136 (-6) to win the MEC Southern and take home Mountain East Player of the Year honors.

The individual race narrowed itself down to five individuals after the first round. Jess Ferrell and Concord University’s Evan Muscari each shot a 66 in the opening round to enter the final day tied for the lead. UVa-Wise’s Clint Lowe was in third place with a 69 after the opening round while Charleston’s Thibaut Carmignano and Shepherd’s Chris Ferrell each fired a 70.

Day two saw none of the five shoot in the 60s; Jess Ferrell fared the best of the group with his second round score of 70 to take home the title. Lowe shot a 71 on day two to finish the event two under par and the tournament runner-up.

Teammate Tyler Hartzell shot a 77 in round two and had a two-day score of 160 to take home MEC honorable mention accolades.

West Liberty’s Matt Iceton is the MEC Freshman of the Year and Charleston’s Will Johnson is the MEC Coach of the Year, the league also announced today. The University of Charleston took home the team title with a two-day score of 587.

In addition to the award winners, the league announced the All-MEC teams. Joining Ferrell and Iceton on the first team were Thibaut Carmingnano (Charleston), Evan Muscari (Concord), Ryan Thomson (West Liberty) and Brian Bir (Notre Dame).

John Baggott (Notre Dame), Joe Burkinshaw (Shepherd), Roberty Fleming (Shepherd), Harry Howell (Charleston), Matt Metz (Glenville State) and Jamin Smith earned second team honors. Seven players earned honorable mention honors.

The All-MEC teams, along with Player of the Year and Freshman of the Year honors, are determined by scoring in select Mountain East Conference events. The MEC Coach of the Year is determined by a vote of the league’s coaches.


Text Only
Featured Ads
NDN Sports
House Ads
NCAA Breaking News
NCAA Photos