The Times West Virginian

November 13, 2012

Austin, Bailey finalists for Biletnikoff Award

By Bob Hertzel
For the Times West Virginian

MORGANTOWN — West Virginia has two of the 10 semifinalists in Tavon Austin and Stedman Bailey for the Fred Biletnikoff Award presented to the year’s top receiver.

Joining them on the ballot for the award that will be presented Dec. 6 during the College Football Awards Show on ESPN are Brandin Cooks, Oregon State; Austin Franklin, New Mexico State; Cobi Hamilton, Arkansas; Austin Hill, Arizona; Deandre Hopkins, Clemson; Marqise Lee, USC; Quinton Patton, Louisiana Tech; and Terrance Williams, Baylor.

Austin leads the nation in receiving with 10.67 catches per game while Lee has caught 98 to Austin’s 96 but played one more game.

Baylor’s Williams leads in yards receiving while Bailey is third and Austin 10th. Bailey leads the nation with 16 touchdowns.


It comes as no surprise but WVU confirmed Monday that wide receiver Ivan McCartney has left the team.

McCartney did not make the trip to Stillwater, Okla., last weekend and WVU coach Dana Holgorsen would not give an explanation. He also will have no comment on the junior from Miramar High in Florida’s leaving the team.

McCartney caught nine passes for 112 yards this year, including a long pass of 52 yards, and for his career he caught 59 passes for 701 yards and three touchdowns. He started recently at the TCU game.

McCartney was the second WVU receiver who was used as a starter recently to leave the team. Freshman Travares Copeland quit the Mountaineers for personal reasons earlier in the week.

Their departures opened up playing time for senior Ryan Nehlan and Conner Arlia, who were big contributors against Oklahoma State.

Email Bob Hertzel at or follow him on Twitter @bhertzel.