The Times West Virginian

West Virginia

October 1, 2011

Outdoor burning is now restricted

CHARLESTON — Beginning Saturday, outdoor burning in West Virginia will be restricted to prevent forest fires.

The fall fire forest season begins Saturday and continues through Dec. 31. Outdoor burning is prohibited between 7 a.m. and 5 p.m.

State law limits outdoor burning to leaves, brush, yard clippings and other vegetative materials.

Commercial burning is allowed in the daytime but only with a $125 permit for each site from the Division of Forestry.

Residents who allow a fire to escape and cause a wildlife or forest fire faces a fine of up to $1,000, along with a $200 civil penalty.

 

1
Text Only
West Virginia
House Ads
Featured Ads