The Times West Virginian

September 19, 2013

WVU-Penn State rivalry renewed

Times West Virginian

MORGANTOWN — West Virginia University director of athletics Oliver Luck continues to keep his vow to schedule historic regional rivalry non-conference games, announcing the renewal of the series between the Mountaineers and Penn State’s Nittany Lions for two games beginning in 2023.

“I know how exciting it was to play in Beaver Stadium and to have the Nittany Lions come to Morgantown,” Luck said.” I think the renewal of this series will be great for the fan bases of the two schools as both locations provide an easy drive.

“I want to thank athletic director Dave Joyner and coach Bill O’Brien for their efforts in getting this series renewed. Both universities have rich traditions and history, and to be able to revive the memories and the fun is what makes college football so special.”

The series resumes at Penn State, on Sept. 2, 2023, with the second game at West Virginia on Aug. 31, 2024.

WVU last played Penn State in 1992, with the Nittany Lions claiming a 40-26 decision in Morgantown. The series ended as Penn State began its current membership in the Big Ten Conference.

The rivalry is one of the longest in West Virginia history, having been played 59 times, the third most games in a series in school history. The Mountaineers have played Pitt 104 times and Syracuse 60 times.

WVU and Penn State started playing in 1904 in State College, and the Lions own a 48-9-2 advantage. West Virginia won three in a row over PSU from 1953-55. Two more Mountaineer wins came in 1984, breaking a 28-year winless streak against the Nittany Lions (1956-1983, one tie in 1958) with a 17-14 victory in Morgantown, and a 51-30 victory in Morgantown in 1988, as part of WVU’s first undefeated and untied regular season.

Luck has also renewed the rivalry with Virginia Tech but while talks with Pitt have been held, no progress toward a renewal in “The Backyard Brawl” can be reported.

The most current portion of the series was played every year from 1947 until 1992.