The Times West Virginian

June 12, 2010

Gyorko repeats as District II Player of Year

Times West Virginian

MORGANTOWN — For the second consecutive season, West Virginia University baseball player Jedd Gyorko has been named the National Collegiate Baseball Writers of America District II Player of the Year, announced Friday by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association.

Gyorko batted .381 with a career-high 19 home runs, 57 RBIs, 28 doubles, 90 hits, and 71 runs for the Mountaineers. He also registered a career-best .750 slugging percentage, 43 walks, .973 fielding percentage, and 192 assists (WVU single-season record).

He led WVU in eight offensive and defensive categories while racking up 2010 All-America laurels. The Morgantown native was a 2009 Brooks Wallace Award finalist and concluded his college career with a school-high .404 batting average, 73 doubles, 113 extra base-hits, and co-holds the career home run record with Tim McCabe at 35.

In 2010, Gyorko has been named a Louisville Slugger second-team All-American, a Brooks Wallace Award semifinalist and an all-Big East first team selection for the second straight year. He was drafted by the San Diego Padres with the 59th overall selection in the second round of the Major League Baseball first-year player draft last Tuesday.

Gyorko won the District II award last year by posting a .421 average with eight home runs, 58 RBIs, 28 doubles and 96 hits.

The 2010 NCBWA District Players of the Year are, District I: 3B/RP Joe Leonard (Pittsburgh); District II: SS Jedd Gyorko (West Virginia); District III: C Yasmani Grandal (Miami, Fla.); District IV: SP Anthony Meo (Coastal Carolina); District V: OF Alex Dickerson (Indiana); District VI: OF Aaron Senne (Missouri); District VII: 3B Anthony Rendon (Rice); District VIII: C-1BDH C.J. Cron (Utah); District IX: 2B Zack MacPhee (Arizona State).

Gyorko and Rendon are the only repeat selections from 2009.The group is divided into areas as follows: District I-Maine, Vermont, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania; District II: Connecticut, West Virginia, New York, New Jersey, Delaware, District of Columbia; III: Kentucky, Tennessee, Mississippi, Alabama, Florida; IV: Georgia, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Maryland; V: Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, Minnesota, Wisconsin; VI: Iowa, Missouri, Kansas, Oklahoma, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota; VII: Texas, Arkansas, Louisiana; VIII: Wyoming, Utah, Idaho, New Mexico, Colorado, Nevada, Montana; District IX: California, Oregon, Washington, Hawai'i, Arizona, Alaska.