Rivesville TOwn Hall

Rivesville Town Hall is prepared for the upcoming election.

FAIRMONT – It’s election time.

On June 11, voters will be able to cast their ballots in Fairview, Monongah, Worthington, White Hall, Rivesville and Farmington.

In some races, there is competition and in some there is none.


In Rivesville, seven candidates are vying for three council seats. They are Blair Spiecher, Lauronza Harmon, Noelle Kolb, Frank Moore, Barb Beatty, Jim Hershman and Michelle Bradley. Yvonne Libreto is unopposed on the ballot in the mayor’s race, but Bill Lawrence is running as a write-in campaign.

In early voting, which began May 29 and ends today, 39 voters had cast their ballots as of Friday afternoon, according to election workers.


In Farmington, there are five candidates running for five council seats. They are Lurita R. Jenkins, Tom Menas II, Tom Sherry, Danny K. Barker and Meredith Banick. No one is running on the ballot for mayor, however, there is a write-in candidate, Bill Glasscock.

Town clerk and Recorder Amanda Goodnight the candidates would do well, once they are seated.

 “I think the ones coming in will do a great job,” she said.

She said early voting has been slow, which she thought had to do with Farmington’s small population.

Election workers said 16 ballots had been cast in early voting.

White Hall

In White Hall, the candidates listed on the ballot are John Jay Michael, who s running for mayor, and Charles E. Mason, who is running for recorder. Mayor Guy Ward did not seek re-election.

The ballot lists five candidates for five open seats. The candidates are Frank Jarman, John Jacobs, Tim Ridenour, Eric D. Martin and Jason Defrance.


In the Town of Fairview, Arley L. Simmons is the only candidate listed for mayor on the ballot and Heather Tuttle is the lone candidate for Recorder.

Five council seats are open, but only three candidates are listed on the ballot. They are Brian Shuck, Dave Mercer and Eric Savors.


In Monongah, two candidates are running for mayor on the ballot – Johnboy Palmer and Greg Vandetta. Patty McCombs is the only candidate for Recorder.

Voters can cast their ballots for five council seats, with nine candidates to choose from. The candidates are Aaron B. Justice, Adam Michna, Brenda Manzo, Roger Huffman, Charlie Parker, Don Harris, Susan Sanders, Cathy Wildman and John Ed Palmer.


In Worthington, one person, Deborah K. Heflin, is running for mayor on the ballot and Sandra Hulsey is running for Recorder. Five council seats are open but only four candidates are on the ballot. They are Nancy Owens, Linda Litz, Samantha Wright and Nancy Willis.

Eric Hrin can be reached at 304-367-2549, or ehrin@timeswv.com.